top of page

ARE THE CHARTS DEAD?


In the 1960s and 1970s, millions bought singles (one song on a record) to make the charts.

Few buy CDs or records today. However, the charts still dominate the way we listen to the most new, popular music.

For example, everybody’s new favourite song Seven Years by the Danish pop ­rocker Lukas Graham, which has kept its Number One spot on the charts for five weeks! It’s a truly remarkable song and would have been a hit in the 2000s, 1990s, even the 1960s.

A lot of celebrities have come back bigger and better, like Justin Bieber the Canadian heart throb. Girls all around the world go crazy for him, but he’s also a top-notch musician.

After his ‘bad boy’ episode, Bieber he pulled himself together and is again hugely popular around the world. His new songs, like Sorry and Love Yourself, are topping the charts. Personally, he’s not my cup of tea, I prefer bands like Twenty One Pilots, and, after their new song Stressed Out, I think everyone does. It’s a song that actually relates to people in the real world.

New rising stars are also very popular (especially the male ones) for example Shawn Mendes. Everyone in my year loves Shawn Mendes one way or another. Perhaps some love his face more than his songs. In my opinion, his songs are really amazing although it’s not really my style of music. There are also a lot of amazing female singers like Rachel Platten - me and my sister can’t get enough of her songs! Also Arianna Grande, the beautiful American singer who is adored by everyone.

I was recently recommended a band called Catfish and the Bottlemen. At first I wasn’t so sure because of the extremely weird name, but I still listened to one of their songs and I was very sorry I doubted them - they are so amazing!

The music that I mentioned though is only a small selection of all sorts of artists and songs that we listen to today. There are so many people that I could have mentioned. This article would have to be many, many pages to do justice to the amazing music makers of this century. The Charts are alive and kicking!

bottom of page