top of page

HAS CINEMA LOST ITS MAGIC


Visiting a cinema to watch the latest film used to be amazing. the anticipation as we lined up, the atmosphere and the buzz all combined in a brilliant evening. this has all gone.

It's not that I don't still enjoy going out with a couple of mates to watch a funny, popcorn film. What I'm talking about is enjoying thoughtful, original films, which quite frankly are not screened any more. Just visit the website of your local Cineworld or Odeon etc, and look at the available films. If it is not a sequel, it is most likely a reboot, and if it isn't a reboot, it is probably a remake, and if it is not a remake, it is a superhero film. I suppose the only original films as I write this are "The Secret Life of Pets" and "Central Intelligence". I won't be watching those anytime soon.

Major film companies should shine a light on smaller, less commercial films, instead of playing "Ghostbusters" 10 times a day. I'm sure people like myself and many others will appreciate that.

You may think that I am being harsh as some cinemas show Indie films, but often they are put on late. For example, if a film is two-and-a-half hours long and it is placed in a 10pm slot, it will finish at 11am, after adverts and trailers. For student who lives two miles from the nearest train station, it becomes a very late night.

Cinema is expensive, too. A seat costs between £5 and £15 and that's not all. Buying popcorn is about twice or even three times the amount it is sold at a supermarket, and the same goes for drinks and other snacks. Not to mention travel costs which depend on how far you are going. For the same price of buying an IMAX ticket with Snacks and a drink you could have around 90 days of Netflix or other streaming service. What's more, you don't have to leave the comfort of your house and your friendly neighbourhood fridge can provide snacks.

I am not saying that I am giving up on cinema. I will still go when original films are screened or if I am invited out by friends. It may not have the same magic it had when I was younger, but visiting the cinema is still special. I hope to rekindle my love affair with the screen soon.

bottom of page