top of page

BILL BOWKETT'S WESTMINSTER WORK EXPERIENCE


Bill Bowkett describes his work experience at the Houses of Parliament

Back in February, I met up Sir Oliver Heald, the MP for North-East Hertfordshire. We talked a lot about local issues like the new housing developments in Baldock and national issues like Brexit. As a consequence, Mr Heald invited me to visit him and his team at work in Parliament.

In half term I was privileged to have two days of work experience at the Houses Parliament. I have always wanted to go into journalism and, more specifically, political reporting so this was an amazing opportunity.

On arrival at the Houses of Parliament I met up with Robert Price, who was one of Mr Heald's parliamentary assistants. He guided us around Parliament and was helpful and informative. We managed to gain a seat in the gallery where we saw Transport Secretary Chris Grayling announce that there was to be a third runway constructed at Heathrow. Alongside this, I enjoyed a tour of Parliament with the public and also wrote a press release for Mr Heald's website about a recent visit to a cardiac arrest charity event.

However, the second day was my personal highlight. I sat in Westminster Hall watching a debate on Britain’s intervention in Libya. However, the best bit was sitting in the gallery once again to watch Prime Minister’s Questions, which is the most watched Parliamentary broadcasts in the world. It was fantastic seeing the proceedings of the session and recognising many MPs sitting in the House of Commons at the time. The day was not over just yet. I managed to talk to Sir Oliver about local issues revolving in North Hertfordshire, which included discussing the new proposals for the new housing developments in Baldock.

Even something as normal as lunch was still exciting. When grabbing lunch from the salad bar, there was a certain Jeremy Corbyn right beside me, which came as a bit of a shock to me.

Overall, the two days were absolutely brilliant and incredibly insightful. Now knowing more about the functions and goings of Parliament, will help me in my politics A-level and for NewsKnight.

My advice for anyone who wants to go into this sort of area, or work experience in general, is to always keep in touch with people in areas that interest you the most. Stay open-minded and intrigued in things you might want to go into in the future. Finally, take every opportunity that you may possibly have, because things like this can be invaluable to employers and bosses.

bottom of page