top of page

THE NEW KID ON THE KTS BLOCK


earlier this year, Rowan Gray (year 12) joined kts from another local school. Here rowan discusses his experiences so far...

When I first considered applying to the Knights Templar School, I was looking forward to a fresh start - similar to when I moved from primary to secondary. I knew I didn’t want to stay at my previous school because I knew a lot of my teachers were leaving and the construction of an entire new school would be a great distraction during my A-levels. I was apprehensive because I did not know the teachers at KTS, but I had heard good stories about them. I was looking forward to high quality teaching. Furthermore, the new science block was to be completed by the time I started my A-Levels. This was particularly attractive, as I was planning on taking all sciences and maths.

However, KTS proved to be a whole lot more than just a snazzy, new science block.

On Sixth Form open evening, I found myself absorbed by the presentation and astounded by the opportunities offered. I’m not exaggerating or just saying this to ‘get in the KTS good books’, I was genuinely impressed. It wasn’t all bark and no bite either, I have been almost bombarded by extracurricular activities such as DofE, NCS, mentoring, Newscast, NewsKnight and Drama - and that’s only off the top of my head.

But wait there’s more! KTS hosts events such as streamed live-action performances (Matilda), the annual winter concert, Dinner Dance, cake sales and fetes, and the engaging mind’s lectures, such as the speech given by Sir Robert Winston after the science block opening ceremony.

Upon entry, I found the fellow sixth formers very welcoming and was invited to visit town with them on induction. Though I haven’t remembered everyone’s names yet, I still feel I’m part of the community. I mingle with a whole host of year 11s and 12s as the social group boundaries seem almost blurred here. I have felt no hostility of any kind.

The lower years are also respectful. I haven’t experienced any pushing in the corridors or children acting older or superior to their elders (teachers or sixth formers). Even the Year 7s are well behaved. Once, I was working in the library when I heard a Year 7 class was about to start a lesson. I thought about moving somewhere quiet to work. However, I found they were remarkably quiet (OK, perhaps that was a bit of an exaggeration, but still). I continued with my work without interruption - excluding the teacher who was, ironically, the loudest individual in the room. Some of the Year 7s even called me ‘sir’!

This brings me to the staff. All my subject teachers give an enthusiastic delivery of their lessons, and clearly care about their students and subject. Admittedly, I find some of the homework a little...well, time consuming. But I have found myself actually enjoying some of the research tasks set because I’m finally learning about something I find interesting. At GCSE, I felt the syllabus held me back, but now I can read around the subject (when I find the time, that is).

Moving on to something close to my heart, food. The catering at KTS is of a much higher standard than I was used to at my previous school. The variety of food on offer is also really impressive. The hygiene in the canteen is clearly a priority, as all students have to use a hand sanitiser.

Knights is everything promised at the Sixth Form open evening and it is as friendly as my last school, if not friendlier. I am very happy and proud to say that I have made it to the KTS sixth form, which will be a great stepping-stone to university. It is the best school I could have hoped for and it has the results to prove it. I do miss my old friends and teachers, but many of them were moving on, so it was only natural I did the same. So many of the opportunities offered here you simply cannot get anywhere else.

bottom of page